石鹸作り No. 5

Made soap yet again using the pure coconut oil and 20% superfat recipe, this time not with expensive and atas ‘vigin organic’ coconut oil but with the regular fractionated (I think) indian mom and pop store variety.
Also tried to be cheeky and formulated my soap after the tiger radler beer using some leftover kirin beer and the lemon essential oil I’ve been meaning to get rid of.

Recipe V – Radler Beer Soap

  • Fractionated Coconut Oil 500g
  • Beer (Kirin Ichiban Shibori) 150ml
  • Lye 92g
  • Lemon Essential Oil ~5ml
  • Vitamin E oil ~5ml
  • Ground Oatmeal

The result: promising looking bars which gelled nicely and are rock hard. They have a lovely frothy beer colour. I also ended up with injured hands.
As the coconut oil recipe the last time took a long time to trace, I decided to be a smart aleck and added an ingredient which I happen know, from the very first time I made soap, makes lye-oil mixture seize, in hope that saponification would speed up. The ingredient is finely ground oatmeal. I think it’s likely due to it catalysing the reaction via adsorption or something like that. Anyway to my delight trace immediately happened, and I was able to slop the contents into the mold, but not before getting some raw soap on my hands.

OWWWW.

Was reminded of pitting corrosion from my corrosion of materials module. corrosive substances seem to be able to remove small bits of skin and flesh from your hands once they are of sufficient concentration on your skin. It’s quite frightening and I still wonder why a few wounds 2 square millimeters large would hurt so much. I did the washing up close to tears of pain. Was reminded that I have to take responsibility for my own safety and wear gloves since I have stubbornly insisted on playing with an ostensibly banned substance in my country.

Can’t wait for this batch to cure.

The radler beer soap which has kirin beer in it

Leave a comment