Sydney

Came back from Sydney and fell right into a boiling shitpot called FYP.
You have no idea the depth of helplessness to which you will descend when your simulation doesn’t work despite spending months on it. The abyss stares back at you.

Wollongong was in close proximity to charming seaside towns. Loved the huge warehouses full of DIY equipment (Bunnings Warehouse), hypermarts (K-Mart, Coles), and bookstores selling cheap books. Did some boxing in bro’s university and thought about how quickly I might get killed if I sparred with the local 6+ ft tall women (more manly than our men, no doubt). They seem pretty able to take my head off my shoulders. I shall do my neck exercises with utmost sincerity.

Blue Mountains in Sydney was surprisingly nice, since I thought it was a rather tired tourist destination. Helped that we spent more time in Blackheath than in Katoomba. The sunset was breathtaking, so we acted like the kids we are and took a couple jumpshots. Leura was pretty too.

There was.. absolutely nothing to do in Sydney. except to visit Sydney Fish Market to eat really expensive fish and chips and to take photos of Sydney Opera House and the Harbour Bridge. Booze was cheap so got really woozy on sake one night and was reminded of the fact that despite what your party monger friends say, drunk is not a nice state to be in.

And oh, the people are so polite there, unlike the horror stories I heard from Europe. Waitresses and shopkeepers actually smiled and asked after us most of the time, even when I know they probably don’t really like us asian people. I totally understand why, after visiting Hurstville. A certain country has alot to do to mend its reputation (not only in Sydney, it seems).

Leave a comment